DVIDS – News – Farragut deploys with the George HW Bush Carrier Strike Group

The Arleigh Burke-class guided-missile destroyer USS Farragut (DDG 99) deployed as part of the
George HW Bush Carrier Strike Group (GHWBCSG) from Naval Base Mayport, Florida,
August 6.
This is a routine deployment for Farragut and the first after a drydock maintenance period in
2021. Farragut returned to operational capability in the summer of 2021 and completed a
rigorous training cycle, including a visit from the Congressional Board of Inspection and Investigation.
“We look forward to getting started and supporting our strike group and NATO allies
while representing our country,” said Cmdr. Nicholas Gurley, Commander of Farragut.
“Our sailors have put in a lot of work and effort over the past few months to ensure that we
are ready for deployment, and it really shows.
Farragut is a multi-mission capable ship with the ability to perform air defense, anti-submarine
warfare and surface warfare. Farragut’s crew is trained and equipped to support any mission that
CSG-10 requires it.
Additionally, Combat Element (CEL) 2 from Helicopter Maritime Strike “Grandmasters”
Squadron (HSM) 46 is embarked aboard Farragut to operate the MH-60R Sea Hawk helicopter,
giving additional airborne combat capability.
The GHWBCSG is an integrated combat weapons system that delivers superior combat
ability to deter and, if necessary, defeat America’s adversaries in favor of national security.
They are committed to maritime safety and security, ensuring free access to sea lanes and
deter aggression.
The strike group is made up of the CSG-10 staff, the Nimitz-class aircraft carrier USS George
HW Bush (CVN 77), Carrier Air Wing (CVW) 7, Destroyer Squadron (DESRON) 26 personnel and
and the Ticonderoga-class guided-missile cruiser USS Leyte Gulf (CG 55). More … than
6,000 Sailors are part of the George HW Bush CSG, which is capable of performing a wide
various missions around the world.
Along with Farragut, DESRON 26 ships within the GHWBCSG are USS Nitze (DDG 94),
currently on independent deployment, USS Truxtun (DDG 103) and USS Delbert D. Black
(DDG 119), which departed Naval Base Mayport earlier this week.
The CVW-7 squadrons aboard the George HW Bush are the “Jolly Rogers” of Strike
Fighter Squadron (VFA) 103, the “Pukin Dogs” of VFA-143, the “Sidewinders” of VFA-86, and
VFA-136’s “Nighthawks” based in Lemoore, California; Carrier Airborne Bluetails
Early Warning Squadron (VAW) 121 and the Helicopter Sea Combat “Nightdippers”
Squadron (HSC) 5 based in Norfolk; the “Patriots” of Electronic Attack Squadron (VAQ) 140
based in Whidbey Island, Washington; and the HSM-46 “Grandmasters” based in Jacksonville, Florida.

For more information on CSG-10, visit his Facebook (www.facebook.com/csg10) and
LinkedIn (www.linkedin.com/carrier-strike-group-ten). For more information on Farragut,
visit his Facebook (www.facebook.com/ussfarragut).

Date taken: 08.06.2022
Date posted: 08.06.2022 13:29
Story ID: 426699
Location: Florida, United States

Web views: 28
Downloads: 0


Previous The story of Tuninter Flight 1153
Next Mohanlal calls Made in India aircraft carrier Vikrant an 'engineering marvel'