Gregory and Lyrintzis named “among the best minds in aerospace” | Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

On February 1, two Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University faculty members were named members of America’s elite Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). They were among 28 new AIAA Fellows nationwide to earn the accolade this year.

Dr. James Gregory, dean of the College of Engineering at the Embry-Riddle campus in Daytona Beach, Fla., and Dr. Tasos Lyrintzis, president and distinguished professor of aerospace engineering, were among the class of honorary fellows and fellows at the AIAA 2022.

“Whenever the contributions of our faculty members are recognized by other scholars in the field, it also benefits our students, enhancing the value of the degrees they earn,” said Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs and Provost Lon Moeller of Embry-Riddle. “The AIAA Fellows distinction is well deserved, and we are extremely proud and happy for Jim and Tasos.”

Gregory also won the National Aeronautic Association’s Frank G. Brewer Trophy this year for his significant contributions to aerospace education. He was recognized as a Fellow of the AIAA “for his transformational contributions to unmanned aircraft system technologies in the future flight environment, his academic leadership, and his significant impact on aerospace education.”

Lyrintsis has been recognized by the AIAA “for fundamental contributions to the development of computational methods for fixed-wing aircraft and silent rotorcraft”.

According to the AIAA, the world’s largest aerospace technical society, Fellowship recognizes “notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics and astronautics.”

The 2022 class of AIAA Fellows and Honorary Fellows “are some of the best minds in the aerospace profession,” said AIAA President Basil Hassan. “This collection of distinguished individuals has earned the respect and gratitude of the aerospace community. We are impressed by their creativity and their valuable contributions to the understanding of our universe.

Embry-Riddle Visiting Distinguished Professor Dr. Mark Balas was previously named a Fellow of the AIAA. In addition, more than half a dozen Embry-Riddle faculty members at the university have been made associates over the years.

The AIAA is planning an induction ceremony on April 26 in Arlington, Virginia.

Posted in: Institutional News

Previous How This Anti-Tesla Battery Could Be The 'Holy Grail' Of Electric Flight
Next Portman and colleagues send letter urging Navy to address maintenance backlogs at all four Navy Government-operated shipyards